• Village Gamer

  • Fifteen Finalists Named For Telefilm Canada Micro-Budget Production Program 2014-2015

24th April 2014

Fifteen Finalists Named For Telefilm Canada Micro-Budget Production Program 2014-2015

Telefilm CanadaTelefilm Canada is pleased to announce the finalists of its 2014-2015 Micro-Budget Production Program. The 15 emerging talents, including three Aboriginal filmmakers, come from all regions of the country. This is the second edition of filmmakers selected as finalists of this initiative created in June 2012. Telefilm will contribute up to $1.5 million to this year’s program. The Micro-Budget Production Program supports new filmmakers seeking to produce their first feature-length films, with an emphasis on the use of digital platforms for distribution and marketing. Candidates for this year’s program were recommended to Telefilm through a network of 32 institutional partners from the film education and training community across Canada.

The new Aboriginal Component of the program was launched in October 2013, following studies on the involvement of Aboriginal filmmakers in the Canadian audiovisual industry. In total, six Aboriginal educational institutions now act as program partners to help increase support and visibility for Aboriginal creators.

“Audiences today are hungry for good stories and have access to content on even more platforms,” said Carolle Brabant, Executive Director of Telefilm Canada. “I would like to thank the many partners who have made this innovative project a success: the educational institutions with special access to talent in their region; Technicolor, our exclusive partner in post-production services; as well as our promotional partners on the Aboriginal production front, Terres en vue and the imagineNative Film Media Arts Festival.”

The 2014-2015 Finalists

New Aboriginal Component

  1. Le Dep, by Sonia Boileau (director) and Jason Brennan (producer), Quebec – Partner: Wapikoni mobile
  2. Fire Song, by Adam Garnet Jones (director) and Laura Milliken (producer), Ontario – Partner: National Screen Institute
  3. The Road of Iniquity, by Mark Ennis (director and producer), New Brunswick – Adam Beach Film Institute

Main Component

  1. Les 3 singes, by Alexis Fortier, Francis Fortin, Maxime Rheault (directors) and Jeanne-Marie Poulain (producer), Quebec – Partner: Institut national de l’image et du son
  2. All the Time in the World, by Suzanne Crocker (director and producer), Yukon – Partner: Yukon Film Society
  3. Bienvenue à FL, by Geneviève Dulude-Decelles (director) and Sarah Mannering, Fanny Drew (producers), Quebec – Partner: Université du Québec à Montréal
  4. Déserts, by Yann-Manuel Hernandez and Charles-André Coderre (directors and producers), Quebec – Partner: Université de Montréal
  5. The Devout, by Connor Gaston (director) and Daniel Hogg (producer), British Columbia – Partner: Cinevic: Society of Independent Filmmakers
  6. Finding Al—A Documentary, by Kelly-Anne Riess (director and producer), Saskatchewan – Partner: Saskatchewan Filmpool Cooperative
  7. The Grey Jacket Story, by Alexander Carson (director) and Jeff Hanes (producer), Ontario – Partner: Independent Filmmakers Cooperative of Ottawa
  8. Kuperman, by Harmony Wagner (director) and Jason Rogerson (producer), Prince Edward Island – Partner: Island Media Arts Cooperative
  9. The Lockpicker, by Randall Okita (director and producer) and Robert Fisher (producer), Ontario – Partner: Canadian Film Centre
  10. Mom and Me, by Lena Elizabeth Macdonald (director and producer), Ontario – Partner: Sheridan College
  11. North Mountain, by Bretten Hannam (director) and Kevin Kincaid (producer), Nova Scotia – Partner: Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University
  12. Shadow in the Woods, by Jeremy Lutter (director and producer) and Robin Chan (producer), British Columbia – Partner: National Screen Institute

The 2014-2015 jury of the Micro-Budget Production Program reviewed a total of 34 preselected projects recommended by Telefilm’s network of partners (Main Component, Aboriginal Component), including 28 for the main component and six for the Aboriginal component. The producer of the project must be a student or recent alumnus from one of these partners or an active member of a film cooperative that is part of the network.

The jury is made up of representatives from Telefilm’s Feature Film sector, and two external experts:

  • Jesse Wente, film critic and programmer for the Toronto International Film Festival and imagineNATIVE, and former president of Native Earth Performing Arts Canada, the oldest Aboriginal theatre company in the country
  • Mario Mercier, founder and creative director of orangetango, a design and communications agency that has garnered awards both nationally and internationally
This entry was posted on Thursday, April 24th, 2014 at 3:33 pm and is filed under Awards, Government, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
  1. Tami Quiring (@VillageGamer)
    8:34 am on April 24th, 2014

    Fifteen Finalists Named For @Telefilm_Canada Micro-Budget Production Program 2014-2015 http://t.co/x57PPnast3 #eyeoncanada #cdnfilm

  2. @1stweekendclub
    8:34 am on April 24th, 2014

    RT @VillageGamer: Fifteen Finalists Named For @Telefilm_Canada Micro-Budget Production Program 2014-2015 http://t.co/x57PPnast3 #eyeoncanad…

  3. MOR (@MORdirections)
    12:13 pm on April 24th, 2014

    RT @VillageGamer: Fifteen Finalists Named For @Telefilm_Canada Micro-Budget Production Program 2014-2015 http://t.co/x57PPnast3 #eyeoncanad…

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back